Goat

Goat has something special for me. If I’m correct, I first saw the trailer of the film by suggestions from another trailer. So I’ve always seen this as a “side movie”, meaning that Goat has a low budget and not so many people know about Goat. The storyline is kind of appealing “What happens there, in the name of “brotherhood,” tests him and his loyalty to his brother in brutal ways”. I’ve always been looking for movies of teenager in high school or in college just to have some kinds of “relaxing”, “casual” moments and since the movie’s trailer make me interested so I had put Goat on my movie to watch list. And I think this is my first time looking for a movie that wouldn’t be in cinema months before its release.

Goat its about a guy named Brad, after going through an car assault, he decided to join his brother’s brotherhood in college with the hope of making himself tougher. But then he realized that this fraternity isn’t what he thinks it would be. The new recruits have to go through a week of hell humiliated in front of other members. And it’s his brother who later sees the meaningless of this week and even, of the existence of the brotherhood. The movie revolves around Brad’s journey with the goal of becoming a member of this fraternity.

There already is many movies on Fraternities and Sororities and Goat is one of them, digging a little further about the downside of this brother and sisterhoods. Of course not all of the fraternity are a bunch of guys half naked partying, roaring and drinking beer all day. However, with the bullying that is happening in the US, I believe that there are out there fraternities like this one. Moreover, the movie is based on a true story. Even though Goat did lead us to an open-ended ending for the characters. I appreciate the fact that they choose Nick Jonas to be the brother so the viewers can hope for kindness.

The rhythm for me is quite slow although the film is just about 1h30. The highlight of the movie is all the humiliation of the freshmen. And yet, I still think the climax of Goat is quite well written. It helps bringing some human values and making the viewers to stop to consider. The dead of Brad’s friend make the movie distinct from any other fraternity movie that I know.

Except for the main actor, the producer had tried to select some good looking guys to be the underdogs instead of following the cliché where the losers have long hair and have to be some sort of ugly. There are nothing special with the OST and the color through the movie is quite bright, some light tone.

Goat reflects a kind of social problems and abuse. But if we look a little closer, we can find humanity through Brad and Brett’s change, especially Brett, who had invited his brother to the brotherhood, watching him being humiliated in front of many other students. Not a bad movie in my opinion but I was expecting more than this in the production. After all, I think that the target audience is all the people that have been through this situation, like The Perks of being a Wallflower.

Overall, I rate this movie 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

